Dr Ragnar Mørk´s Prize for excellent cancer research 2020 to Theo Theodossiou

Theodossis Theodossiou
Theodossis Theodossiou

Dr. Theo Theodossiou at Department of Radiation Biology, Institute for Cancer Research, received Dr. Ragnar Mørk´s Prize for excellent cancer research in the auditorium of Institute for Cancer Research. Theodossiou received the prize for his research on photosensitizers in selective killing of cancer cells. His innovative research includes luminescence-based photosensitizer activation for killing of brain tumours, and proton-induced photosensitizer activation (proton-dynamic therapy) as a novel way of combining proton therapy with photodynamic therapy.

Dr. Ragnar Mørk's Prize 2020 amounts to NOK 200.000. To avoid risk of covid-19 transmission, only invited guests attended the ceremony, but everyone was welcome to follow the event by Zoom.  The prize ceremony was held on Friday 13th November in the Auditorium of Institute for Cancer Research.

Photo gallery (slide show) from the ceremony (photographer: Chema Bassols)


Home page of Theodossis A. Theodossiou's Protonics project group

Theodossis A. Theodossiou's publications

Department of Radiation Biology

Previous news articles about Theodossis A. Theodossiou from ous-research.no:

Theodossiou interviewed for Smithsonian Magazine on how natural light may be used to kill cancer cells (03.01.2020)

Theodossis A. Theodossiou researcher of the year at the Institute for Cancer Research (13.12.2019)

The Innovative science 2019 award-winning LUMIBLAST concept:
- Fighting brain cancer through photodynamic therapy, using light from within

2019 Innovation Radar Prize for Innovative Science to Lumiblast (27.09.2019)

Could Light-Activated Drugs Turn Proton Therapy into a More Radical Treatment for Cancer? (04.09.2019)

Protonics team leader presenting their research on The Scientist's Channel (02.04.2019)

Theodossiou and Berg presented in national media after receiving prestigious EU grant (04.05.2018)

Theodossiou and Berg funded by the Future and Emerging Technology (FET) program (31.03.2016)

PCI research funded by Euronanomed II ERA-NET program (03.11.2015)

Findings regarding a novel non-genomic tamoxifen cytotoxic action published in ACS Chemical Biology (26.11.2015)

Previous years winners of the Ragnar Mørks' legacy prize:

2019: Karl-Johan Malmberg
2018: Kaisa Haglund
2017: June Myklebust
2016: Therese Sørlie
2015: Guro E. Lind
2014: Arne Kolstad
2013: Kjersti Flatmark
2012: Vessela N. Kristensen
2011: Camilla Raiborg
2010: Heidi Lyng
2009: Rolf I. Skotheim
2008: Tor Erik Rusten
2007: Anne Simonsen
2006: Bjørn Naume
2005: Gunhild Mælandsmo
2004: Mouldy Sioud

2003: Ragnhild A. Lothe
2002: Antoni Wiedlocha
2001: Eivind Hovig

Page visits: 4681