Research Management and the Research Committee

Research Management

  • Head of Research: Prof. Tom Hemming Karlsen (
  • Research Administration: Steinar Heldal (

The Head of Research’s responsibility is to – on delegated authority from Head of Divison - to manage, organize, coordinate and promote good and sound research in the division. Head of Research is chair of the Research Committee.

Research Committee

The Research Committee is an advisory body for Head of Research and Head of Division in research related questions.  The members of the committee is appointed by Head of Division every third year.

Members of the committee:

  • Kristin Bjørnland, Pediatric surgery
  • Viktor Berge, Urology
  • Einar Martin Aandahl, Transplantation Surgery
  • Anders Åsberg, Kidney Transplantation Medicine
  • Astrid Klopstad Wahl, Health Sciences
  • Ida Gregersen, Research Institute of Internal Medicine
  • Sheraz Yakub, HPB-surgery
  • Gro Wiedswang, Colorectal surgery
  • Magnus Løberg, Clinical Effectiveness Group

Ex officio members

  • Tom Hemming Karlsen, Head of Research
  • Steinar Heldal, Research Admin
  • Morten Tandberg Eriksen, Head of Division
  • Michael Bretthauer, Head of the division’s strategic clinical protocol committee

Mandate for the committee (in Norwegian only)

Page visits: 520