Department of Haematology

In 2010, the Department of Haematology (BLO) was created as a unified administrative unit for haematology, bringing together the separate units at Aker Hospital, Ullevål Hospital, and Rikshospitalet. Additionally, in early 2012, there was a consolidation of nearly all clinical activities in haematology at Rikshospitalet. Following these changes, research within BLO has focused on three primary areas: cellular haematology, haemostasis and thrombosis, and multiple myeloma. The department was headed by Prof. Geir Tjønnfjord until 2023, the position held by Prof. Pål Holme from 2024. The department head is also in charge of the combined research in the department.

Research groups with group leaders:

Coagulation Factors: Role in the Development of Thrombosis, Inflammation and Cancer Platelet and coagulation: clinical and basic research Oslo Myeloma Center
Benedicte Stavik
Pål André Holme
Fredrik Schjesvold