Department of Tumor Biology

Department Head: Senior scientist Gunhild M. Mælandsmo, PhD

Department of Tumour Biology comprises six research groups:

Eivind Hovig Leonardo Meza-Zepeda

Ola Myklebost G.M. Mælandsmo Kristin A. Taskén

Project groups

Anti-cancer therapy
with immunotoxin
Tumor-stroma interactions in metastasis and therapy    


Yvonne Andersson
Lina Prasmickaite

The scientific focus of Department of Tumour Biology is on studies of mechanisms involved in cancer development and progression. In that regard we have two main interests:

  • investigations of basic biology
  • development of new and better methods in the fields of diagnosis, prognosis and therapy

The department has participated considerably in the establishment of the Microarray technology (Go to the Priority Area Web Pages for further reading), development of Bioinformatics, as well as the Gene Therapy Program at the Norwegian Radium Hospital.